Lois Miller Tulip Award

The Lois Miller Tulip Award recognizes a person, group or organization that exemplifies the spirit of independent living and enables people living with disabilities to have control and informed choice over their lives.

Lois Miller served as the ILNS Executive Director for 13 years before she retired in 2011. The Award is named in honour of her tireless and active leadership on behalf of people living with disabilities.

Award Guidelines:

  1. The Lois Miller Tulip Award nominee has exemplified the spirit of independent living and made contributions enabling people living with a disabilities to live independently.
  2. The Lois Miller Tulip Award nominee has been informed and is accepting the nomination.
  3. We have extended the deadline for application submissions to October 28 at 4:30 p.m. Please ensure any mailed applications are delivered to ILNS by this deadline.
  4. The Selection Committee will review all submissions, contact the top-ranked nominees for an interview and notify the successful candidate and nominator.
  5. During ILNS' Christmas Gala and Dance, the successful candidate will be presented with the Lois Miller Tulip Award.

To make a nomination please fill out the Nomination Package below or download the Word document at the bottom of the page:

  • Briefly answer the following questions:
  • Nominator
Previous award winners of the 
Lois Miller Tulip Award

2020 Kendall Worth

2019  Jennifer Powley

2017  Lillianne Dube and Grace McNee 

2014  The James McGregor Stewart Society

2013  Claredon Robicheau

2012  Don Glover

2011  Lois Miller

If you are mailing a nomination package, please send it to:

Selections Committee
Independent Living Nova Scotia
L153 - 7071 Bayers Road
Halifax, NS B3L 2C2

Supporting persons with disabilities live independently in the community

Our Sponsors

Direct Your Visitors to a Clear Action at the Bottom of the Page